Stress and Zentangle

The next step in my campaign to reduce my BP was to turned my attention to was stress.  A difficult area as so much of it is beyond my control.

I am a teacher and to quote Sir Cary Cooper, Professor of Organisational Psychology and Health at the University of Manchester’s Business School – “Of all the occupations I’ve studied, and that’s about 80, teachers are in the top three most stressed occupations. The hours are long and antisocial, the workload is heavy and there is change for change’s sake from various governments.”

I started by changing little things that I can control, like limiting how much work I do at home and using the time to take up drawing again.  This in turn led me to Zentangle, “relaxing, and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns.  It increases focus and creativity, provides artistic satisfaction along with an increased sense of personal well-being”.coloured-x

I was doing quite well with this until recently when my aged father took a turn for the worse and is no longer able to look after himself. I am in the process of getting Power of Attorney – a long and protracted process here – whilst trying to get him the best care possible. Stress levels soared ! Now that the initial urgency of the situation has passed I am starting to Zentangle again.

Marie

 

 

6 thoughts on “Stress and Zentangle

  1. It’s tough dealing with one’s own stress, and then to have it compounded by care for a loved one! My mother has recently begun planning “ahead” with such things as power of attorney, so that when the time comes it will less of a difficulty. I began doodling and zentangling last year, and I love it – it’s a nice change of pace, a way to get off the proverbial merry-go-round for awhile.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am tucking away that quote about teaching and stress in my Book Notes and Favorite Quotes file, for the next time someone tells me teachers have it easy because they get summers off.

    I really like the Zentangle. I try to draw a little pen and ink picture in my journal every day, just to do it. I’m very bad at it, which means my pictures are kind of funny, sometimes just plain embarrassing.

    Something structured! Hmm.

    Good luck in your mission to lower your blood pressure, and hope things smooth out with your dad. Noble adventures, both of them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

